Select Page

Kindle Daily Deal:

The Dirty Parts of the Bible — A Novel by Sam Torode

available now for only $0.01

Prices may change at any time. Please confirm price before downloading. Follow our Ebook Deals for Nook and Kindle page to get daily free and bargain ebooks for Nook and Kindle.

Don’t have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or download a Free Kindle Reading App for your computer or mobile device!

kindle daily deal

Download HERE

It’s not April Fool’s — on sale this week only!

Semifinalist for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award

The Dirty Parts of the Bible is a humorous novel set during the Great Depression—a rollicking tale of love and liquor, preachers and prostitutes, trains and treasure, sure to appeal to fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash.

Publishers Weekly says: 

“While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman [coming-of-age story] steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle’s farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters’ distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle’s, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his–and readers’–interests piqued.” (Review from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award)

Companion volume now available free for limited time: The Book of Craw: A Hobo’s Testament (Companion Volume to “The Dirty Parts of the Bible”)